Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023 : History and Schedule

Essay on Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023

Indian cricket team will host Australia in a four-match Test series scheduled to commence on February 9 for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. This will be an exciting contest, both teams will be on the lookout to obtain results in their favor and win the series. Here you can checkout some information about Border-Gavaskar Trophy. Like history of Border-Gavaskar Trophy, shecdule of Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023 and more.

Border-Gavaskar Trophy History 

Border Gavaskar Trophy is a test series between India and Australia. It was named as Border Gavaskar Trophy in the 1996-1997 test series, to celebrate Alan Border’s and Sunil Gavaskar’s milestones of completing 10,000 runs in the test format. 


India 9 1996/97, 1997/98, 2000/01, 2008/09, 2010/11, 2012/13, 2016/17, 2018/19, 2020/21
Australia 5 1999/00, 2004/05, 2007/08, 2011/12, 2014/15


The first edition of the series was a one-off test match, in which the Indian team ended victorious. In the second edition, it was changed to 3 test matches. And from the fifth edition, it’s been 4 test matches in a series, and that series was drawn by 1-1. From 1996 to 2021 15 series were played between India and Australia. 5 have been won by the Aussies and India held victorious 9 times.

Here’s the complete data for every edition of the Border Gavaskar Trophy :


Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2018-19

Virat Kohli is the first Indian captain to win Border Gavaskar Trophy in Australia in 2018-19. India won the first test and took lead in the series. Virat Kohli scored a century that will be remembered for  Decades but the 2nd match got into the Aussies’ hands. India made a comeback by defeating Australia with a margin of 137 runs and was all set to take the home, the only option for Australia is to win the 4th match to draw the series. The 4th match was a draw in which Cheteshwar Pujara and Rishabh Pant held centurion. 

Virat Kohli lifting Border Gavaskar Trophy
Virat Kohli lifting Border Gavaskar Trophy

Border Gavaskar Trophy 2021

The 2020-21 edition of the Border Gavaskar Trophy is amazing for India. Many players got injured during this series. Virat Kohli was not playing in the 2nd 3rd and 4th test matches. India was humiliated in the 1st test match, Aussies’ bowling was ruthless. They got India all out on just 36 runs. In the second test without Virat Kohli, India took revenge under the captaincy of Ajinkya Rahane who scored a century. The third match was a draw Hanuma Vihari and Ravichandran Ashwin even after getting injured defended the game for their team. And the 4th test was in The Gabba, where Australia hadn’t lost a test match for 32 years. But team India with the efforts of Rishabh Pant, Shubhman Gill, Mohammed Siraj, and others won the game with 3 wickets and once again defeated the Aussies in their own castle.  The 16th edition of the Border Gavaskar Trophy is starting on 9th February in VCA stadium, Nagpur.

Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023 Schedule :

1st match, 9-13 February in Nagpur. (Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium)

2nd match, 17-21 February in Delhi. (Arun Jaitley Stadium)

3rd match, 1-5 march in Dharamshala. (Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium)

4th match, 9-13 march in Gujrat. (Narendra Modi Stadium)

Border Gavaskar Trophy Squad 2023 :

Rohit Sharma (Captain) 

KL Rahul (vice-captain)

Shubman Gill

Cheteshwar Pujara

Virat Kohli 

Shreyas Iyer

KS Bharat (wk)

Ishan Kishan (wk)

R. Ashwin

Axar Patel 

Kuldeep Yadav

Ravindra Jadeja

Mohd. Shami

Mohd. Siraj

Umesh Yadav 

Jaydev Unadkat

Suryakumar Yadav

Border Gavaskar Trophy Documentary

Voot has made a documentary on Border Gavaskar Trophy 2020-21 “Bandon Me Tha Dum”. Consisting of 4 episodes.  It shows  that there were many challenges that Indian team faced to create history and win their second successive Border-Gavaskar trophy while playing away. 

This documentary was directed by Neeraj Pandey. Casting of this documentary are Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant, Hanuma Vihari, Mohammed Siraj, Pat Cummins, Tim Paine, Paddy Upton, and Washington Sundar. 

It has been rated 8.8/10 on IMDB.

Impact On World Test Championship 

This series will be the last for both India and Australia in World Test Championship 2021-2023 cycle. Australia is at the top of the table and India is in 2nd position. There is a chance that India and Australia will play in the WTC final in June. 

Verified by MonsterInsights